Last update04:06:34 PM

Back You are here: Home News Articles by Category - Local Industry News Public Hopefuls Set Blistering Times On Our Gymkhana Course And Prove They Are Up For The Speed Stars Challenge

Public Hopefuls Set Blistering Times On Our Gymkhana Course And Prove They Are Up For The Speed Stars Challenge

17 Speed Stars UP
17 UP Action1
17 Drivers Watching

The skidpan at Zwartkops International Raceway provided the perfect arena for Speed Stars to kick off the first round of their nationwide search for public contestants.

On a day where SA's best racing drivers were on display in the sixth round of the GTC Series, the public were determined to showcase their driving talent on our gymkhana course in the hope of taking a step closer to fulfilling their motor racing dream!

Contestants were given three attempts at navigating a Volkswagen UP, shod on Goodyear Efficient Grip tyres, through the tricky and wet gymkhana course. With only the two fastest times making it through to the next round, the competition was fierce and the times were extremely close. When the chequered flag dropped at the end of the day, it was Kennedy Mogotsi who topped the Speed Stars leaderboard with a time of 33,61 sec, closely followed by Luke McDowell in a time of 34,15 sec.
It would seem that speed runs in the Mogotsi family, Kennedy's son, Jonathan, won Volkswagen's Driver Search last year and currently drives for the team in the intensely contested VW Polo Cup Series. With Speed Stars excluding contestants with previous racing experience from entering, Kennedy has clearly picked up a few pointers from pit lane!

Volkswagen Motorsport showed their support for Speed Stars, with their drivers jumping out of the racecars and getting in on the action on the skidpan! In the VW Polo Cup Driver shootout, it was Kuda Vazhure who beat Jonathan Mogotsi, while Keegan Masters continued his on track winning streak by beating GTC2 teammate, Mandla Mdakane. Both Mathew Hodges and Daniel Rowe ended up on the third step of the GTC podium on track, but on the Speed Stars gymkhana it was Mathew who took top honours.
A massive favourite with the crowd was the Celebrity Shootout. With Jonathan Kaplan having won the first season of Speed Stars, they invited back the next fastest Stars to contest one of two Wild Card slots on this seasons show: 5fm's Rob Forbes, rapper Jack Parow and Expresso presenter, Katlego Maboe. Going head to head on mirrored gymkhana courses, it ended up a straight shootout between Rob and Jack for the one slot on the show. Jack may have set one of the fastest times of the day with a 33,90 sec but with one win each it came down to combined times and it was super consistent Rob Forbes who took the win!
So Rob has secured his place on track for this season but who will join him? The next Celebrity Shootout will see Season Two runner up, Richard Stirton, SA's top chef, Reuben Riffel and multi talented Maps Maponyane battling it out for the final Wild Card slot.

The next round of the Speed Stars Public Search will take place on the 2nd and 3rd September at the SA Festival of Motoring at Kyalami.
Head down to the Volkswagen Exhibition Area where Speed Stars will again be challenging your driving ability on the Volkswagen Driving Academy gymkhana course. Entry to the activation is free and if you are 18 years of age or older, in possession of a valid drivers license and have never been issued a racing license, your fastest time could see you one step closer to the drivers seat on Speed Stars.
Speed Stars will also be searching for talent in Port Elizabeth, Durban and Cape Town on the 16th September 2017. Details to be announced.

Sponsored by VW Driving Academy and Goodyear, the popular TV show is back for a third season on Ignition, DSTV 189. Each episode features two celebrity guests who are given professional driving instruction before being unleashed on the Zwartkops racetrack to set a timed lap - the star with the fastest lap time is deemed the winner.
Road Safety and Driver Education form an important part of the entire Speed Stars experience, so each episode has a Safety Lesson driving home important tyre, road and driver safety tips and advice. Not only is Speed Stars educating and improving the driving abilities and awareness of our stars, but importantly also those of the viewers.

For the first time ever on Speed Stars, the winner of this season will be decided in an actual race! That's right, the EIGHT fastest stars in eight identical VW Polo's, competing in the feature race at the final round of the Extreme Festival at Zwartkops on SATURDAY 25TH NOVEMBER

Speed Stars 3 will be on your TV screens from the 7th October until the 15th December on Ignition, DSTV 189.

Speed Stars is brought to you by Volkswagen Driving Academy and Goodyear, and supported by Greensky Brand Architects, Zwartkops Raceway and The Fairway Hotel.

Find Speed Stars at and on Social Media:
Twitter: @SpeedStarsSA Instagram: speedstarssa
Facebook: YouTube: Speed Stars
Guests on Speed Stars 1:
Lalla Hirayama – TV Presenter
 Boity Thulo – TV Presenter Catherine Constantinides – Environmental Activist Melinda Bam – former Miss SA Gilan Gork - Mentalist
 Larry Soffer - Magician
 Bridgitte Hartley – Olympic Bronze Medalist (Rowing) Sanani Mangisa – SA Hockey Rob Forbes – 5fm DJ 
Darren Simpson – 94.7 DJ
 Siv Ngesi – Actor, TV Presenter Tumi Morake – Comedian Jack Parow – Musician
 Kurt Darren – Musician
 Elana Afrika Brendenkamp – TV Presenter
 Jeannie D – TV Presenter
 Ross Learmonth – Musician 
 Leanne Manas – Morning Live Reuben Riffel – Chef
 Kamini Pather – Master Chef
 Trevor Gumbi – Comedian
 Katlego Maboe – TV Presenter John Smit – Bok Captain / RWC 2007
 Jonathan Kaplan – Int. referee
Guests on Speed Stars 2:
Jason Goliath – Comedian
 David Levinsohn – Comedian 
 Chris Bertish – Adventurer / Waterman 
 Bianca Buitendag – Pro Surfer
 Maps Maponyane – Media and TV Personality
 Jonathan Boynton-Lee – TV / Actor Bonnie Mbuli – TV Personality / Actress
 Leigh-Anne Williams – Radio / TV
 Roxy Louw – Model
 Jade Hubner – TV Personality
 Werner Kok – BlitzBok
 Garreth 'Soldierboy' McLellan- MMA Nicole Flint – Former Miss SA
 Nonhle Thema – Actress / TV Wayde van Niekerk – Olympic Gold & 400m WC Akani Simbine – African 100m Champ Sarah Kozlowski – Actress
 Thulisile Pongola – Actress
 Richard Stirton – The Voice Winner / Musician
 Gavin Edwards – The Voice / Musician

Receive Our Newsletter

We have 61 guests and no members online